7th Jul, 2022

RUGBY UNION - Wasps name team to face Exeter Chiefs

WASPS have named an all-new front-row as part of four changes to their squad for tomorrow’s clash with Exeter Chiefs at the Coventry Building Society Arena.


Lee Blackett’s side edged out Northampton Saints 26-20 last weekend to maintain their perfect home record in this season’s Gallagher Premiership.


Dan Frost makes his first Premiership start at hooker with Tom Cruse ruled out under the HIA protocol.


Robin Hislop and Jeff Toomaga-Allen join Frost in the front-row.


The other change sees Michael Le Bourgeois switch to outside centre after Sam Spink injured his hamstring in the win against Northampton.


That means Jimmy Gopperth returns to the side at inside centre after playing a crucial role in beating the Saints.


Zach Kibirge, Josh Bassett and Marcus Watson retain their positions in the side – with the former having crossed for a try last time out.


Captain Brad Shields, Tom Willis and Thomas Young all start in the back-row – with Young’s departure to Cardiff Rugby at the end of the season confirmed earlier this week.


Elliott Stooke and Vaea Fifita continue at second row with Jacob Umaga and Dan Robson once again partnered at half-back.


Elsewhere, Patrick Harrison is included amongst the replacements after joining on a short-term loan deal from Edinburgh on Thursday.


And Francois Hougaard is also in-line to make his Wasps debut from the bench after he was a late withdrawal last weekend.


Wasps starting XV

15 Marcus Watson

14 Zach Kibirige

13 Michael Le Bourgeois

12 Jimmy Gopperth

11 Josh Bassett

10 Jacob Umaga

9 Dan Robson

1 Robin Hislop

2 Dan Frost

3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen

4 Vaea Fifita

5 Elliott Stooke

6 Brad Shields (C)

7 Thomas Young

8 Tom Willis



16 Patrick Harrison

17 Ben Harris

18 Pieter Scholtz

19 Tim Cardall

20 Nizaam Carr

21 Francois Hougaard

22 Will Simonds

23 Ali Crossdale


Unavailable for selection: Charlie Atkinson, Alfie Barbeary, Malakai Fekitoa, James Gaskell, Joe Launchbury, Rob Miller, Ryan Mills, Paolo Odogwu, Gabriel Oghre, Sam Spink, Theo Vukasinovic, Jack Willis.


Wasps clash with Exeter at the CBS Arena kicks-off at 3pm on Saturday, October 16.


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.

Book an Advert

Book your newspaper advert with our online advert creation tool.