A HIDDEN medieval gem in thee city is preparing to celebrate ten years of welcoming visitors.
Tucked away just beyond the city centre, next to the ring road, the Weaver’s House and garden has been standing since 1455. It has survived industrial growth, the Blitz and city developments, and now celebrates ten years of being open to visitors in its restored medieval condition.
And a special open day will mark the tenth anniversary of its restoration on Saturday July 29.
Visitors will be able to enjoy a tour and find out all about the house including its Tudor history and how it was rescued from destruction in the 1990s by a dedicated group of local people.
In the Weaver’s House itself they will experience how medieval weavers lived and see demonstrations by weavers and spinners as well as the full-size replica loom – accessed via ladder. There will also be traditional games and homemade cakes.
During the anniversary year the Weavers’ Workshop group, which runs regular drop-in sessions at the house, has been creating a piece of woven cloth from scratch using traditional methods including dyeing the wool with woad. T
Visitors will also have an opportunity to get hands on with weaving and add to the anniversary weaving project during the day.
The Weaver’s House is part of Black Swan Terrace – six timber-framed cottages built in thee mid 15th century. The cottages were saved from demolition and restored by Spon End Building Preservation Trust.
The Weaver’s House has been restored to show how former resident John Croke, a Coventry narrow-loom weaver and his family would have lived in 1540, complete with full size replica loom and working garden.
As usual, admission to the open day, running from 11am to 4pm, is free, and no booking is necessary, but to keep the house open for another ten years and beyond, donations are welcomed.
The Weaver’s House can be easily be reached on foot from Coventry City Centre. Some on-street parking is available in Upper Spon Street.
Visit www.theweavershouse.org for further details.