Speedway
Chris Harris to make Brandon return

By Steve Carpenter Tuesday 19 February 2013 Updated: 19/02 10:52

Latest News

Buy photos » Chris Harris is returning to Brandon next month for the Brandonapolis event. Photo by Jamie Gray 11.012.018.cov.jg2

FORMER Bees skipper Chris Harris will be back at Brandon for the opening night of the season on March 15.

Harris, who won three Elite League titles with the Bees, has switched to rivals Birmingham Brummies for the upcoming season, but has been included in the line-up for the Brandonapolis individual – an event he has yet to win.

Peterborough’s Linus Sundstrom will defend the trophy he won last year, and 2010 winner Hans Andersen is also included along with fellow Danes Kenneth Bjerre and Bjarne Pedersen.

Bees’ top three riders, Krzysztof Kasprzak, Grzegorz Zengota and skipper Scott Nicholls are also confirmed starters, with eight places remaining in the line-up.

“I wanted Bomber to come back for the Brandonapolis, and I’m sure he will want to show everyone what they might be missing this season,” said promoter Mick Horton.

“But he’ll get a good welcome back and with the other riders confirmed it’s coming together nicely, it should be a great way to start the season.”

Elsewhere, Coventry Storm will launch their National League campaign with a trip to reigning Champions Mildenhall.

Storm, who face Dudley in the two-legged Travel Plus Trophy to kick off the season, will visit West Row on Sunday April 28.

Their first home league fixture is a clash with King’s Lynn on Friday May 3, and they also face Mildenhall in the quarter-finals of the Knockout Cup.

The top four clubs in the eight-team National League will qualify for the play-offs.

Fixtures:

Fri Mar 22 DUDLEY H TPT

Tues Apr 9 Dudley A TPT

Sun Apr 28 Mildenhall A NL

Fri May 3 KING’S LYNN H NL

Wed May 8 King’s Lynn A NL

Fri May 17 MILDENHALL H NLKOC

Sun May 26 Mildenhall A NLKOC

Fri May 31 STOKE H NL

Tues June 11 Dudley A NL

Fri June 14 KENT H NL

Sat June 22 Stoke A NL

Tues July 2 Isle of Wight A NL

Sun July 7 Buxton A NL

Fri July 19 ISLE OF WIGHT H NL

Fri Aug 2 BUXTON H NL

Mon Aug 12 Kent A NL

Fri Aug 16 MILDENHALL H NL

Fri Sept 6 DUDLEY H NL

Share This

Popular »

1 Two crashes on M6 cause rush hour chaos

2 Coventry speed cameras switched off for good

3 Natwest to close Foleshill Road branch

4 Record crowds rev up Coventry Festival of Motoring

5 Steve Waggott: Time to move forward towards success

More sport »

Football: Five possible candiates for the Sky Blues post

THE club has said over 50 applications have

Ice Hockey: Blaze end eventful weekend with a win

DUSTIN Cameron netted a late winner as Blaze

Football: Bury 0-2 Coventry City

Bury 0-2 Coventry City League One Match report

Ice Hockey: Paul Thompson - Confidence is high in Blaze camp

COACH Paul Thompson admits a bit of swagger

Regional sport »


Rugby Observer
Town seek FA Cup tonic + pic

RUGBY Town return to FA Cup action on Saturday when ...

Solihull Observer
Berkswell down to third as West Brom win title

DESPITE a defiant half-century from skipper Dominic Ostler, Berkswell were ...

Leamington Observer
Superb victories for Brakes

BRAKES returned to winning ways on Non-League Day with their ...

Redditch Standard
Church Hill win clash of the titans

THE BSA Cup took centre stage in the Redditch & ...