Election 2012
How events unfolded at the Ricoh Arena

By Steve Carpenter 04/05 Updated: 04/05 11:50

Latest News

Buy photos » Elections 2012 at Ricoh Arena

THE Observer team were on hand to cover all the events at this year's local election.

Our reporters were tweeting throughout the evening to break the results and figures.

Below is our Twitter time-line of events:

12.45am – Counting underway at the election here at the Ricoh Arena

1.05am – All wards are now counting at the election

1.36am – Turnout figures confirmed as: 27.86% in the referendum and 26.43% in the local election

1.47am - It's looking like the people of Coventry have decided NO to an elected mayor...Not yet confirmed

2.04am - The first result of the evening has come through just after 2am and Labour (Maya Ali) have gained Westwood from the

Tories (Marcus Lapsa)...

2.07am - Westwood figures are as follows - Labour 1,418, Socialist Party 122, Green Party 183 Lib Dems 145, Tories 1,346 and BNP 165

2.11am - Woodlands results are up next and it's another gain for Labour (Steven Thomas) who gains Conservative Heather Johnson's seat

2.14am - He picked up 1,853 votes, 319 more than his Tory counterpart. "I will work hard for you," Coun Thomas says. Also pays tribute to opponents

2.17am - No surprises in Binley + Willenhall: Labour's Dave Chater easily holds his seat. UKIP's Colin Stubbs runs Tories close in 3rd with 503 votes

2.22am – Foleshill results up next...

2.24am - Malkiat Singh Auluck holds Foleshill Ward for Labour with 2,112 votes ahead of Shabbir Ahmed (Tories) on 1,114

2.25am - William Bromwich (Independent) gets a warm reception after receiving 230 votes

2.27am - The results are coming in thick and fast here now at the Ricoh Arena...

2.31am - The Tories hold their first seat of the night in Wainbody, with Anthony Blundell beating Labour's Martin Hartnett by just over 300 votes

2.37am - No Surprises in the Longford Ward as dep council leader George Duggins holds for Labour with 2,409 votes with the Tories finishing last on 58

2.39am - Coun Duggins says it looks like a very good night for Labour here and nationally. Also looks like a resounding 'no' in the elected mayor ref

2.40am - He sends a message from Coventry to the PM: "Don't bully us. We'll see right through your dodgy questions and we'll see right through you

2.42am - Meanwhile, Rachel Lancaster comfortably holds Holbrook for Labour, as does Ed Ruane in Henley

2.43am - All results now in, council confirms - declarations coming up...

2.44am - Ed Ruane (Labour) holds Henley and thanks Geoffrey Robinson for his help throughout the campaign

2.46am - Tory Allan Andrews holds Earlsdon by a surprisingly strong majority. He had told the Observer earlier he was pessimistic about his chances

2.47am - An emotional Andrews said he was "humbled" to serve Earlsdon for another four years

2.51am - Sherbourne seat won by Alison Gingell (Lab). Gain from Tories after Gary Ridley stepped down, his replacement Leon Emirali over 1,000 back

2.55am - Russell Field (682 votes) trounced in Upper Stoke by Labour's Kamran Asif Caan (2,024). The Lib Dem loses his seat...

2.56am - Field was rumoured to have left the Ricoh over an hour before his fate was sealed just a few moments ago...

3.01am - Robert Thay gains Wyken for Labour with 1,888 votes ahead of Susanna Dixon (Conservative) with 1,146 votes

3.03am - Mal Mutton storms to victory in the Radford ward with 1,400 more votes than her conservative rival Mary Taylor

3.07am - David Galliers takes Bablake seat - yet another Labour gain over the Conservatives. Says he looks forward to the challenge ahead

3.08am - Coun Galliers takes the seat from John Gazey, who was deselected by the Tories before the election. He stood as an ind, taking 669 votes

3.09am - The move split the vote as Lab take it by 300.

3.11am - Labour's night gets better as Catherine Miks holds Lower Stoke with 1,748 votes

3.15am - Dave Nellist (Socialist) loses his St Michael's seat to Naeem Akhtar by just 204 votes as Labour continue to win seats in the city

3.18am - Over 20 Labour activists walked out moments before Dave Nellist spoke to his supporters

3.21am - Jayne Innes (Labour) takes the Whoberley seat from Conservative Roger Bailey. Last seat coming up - its Cheylesmore

3.21am - Conservative Hazel Noonan was confident she had held her seat in Cheylesmore earlier in the night

3.23am - And she has - holding the seat by nearly 300 votes

3.26am - Official elected mayor referendum not yet announced but we believe it is 63.5 per cent against and 36.5 for

3.37am - It has been announced and as expected the people of Coventry have voted against an elected mayor

3.44am - A total of 62,956 votes were made, 22,619 (36.42%) voted yes and 39,483 (63.58%) voted no

3.46am - Council leader John Mutton, deputy George Duggins and Mr Coventry Joe Elliott all reveal their delight at the decision

3.50am - Coun Duggins says the 'no' campaign met people and went into the community rather than taking the fight on to twitter

3.51am - And that wraps up our coverage, more reaction tomorrow - if you stayed up with us... thank you and well done!

Regional news »

Rugby Observer
St George to ride into Rugby

ST GEORGE and his trusted knights will ride into town ...

Solihull Observer
Jack and family kick out to find a cure

LIKE every other four-year-old boy Jack Gauder loves running around, ...

Leamington Observer
A million plus reason to celebrate for Oxfam Leamington

SUPPORTERS of Oxfam Books and Music in Leamington have raised ...

Redditch Standard
Fears for Redditch patients after Worcester meltdown

CAMPAIGNERS fighting to save services at the Alexandra Hospital have ...

Business Directory »

See your advert here »